Monday, July 26, 2010

The 2011 Baseball Hall of fame Ballot

BBWAA voters can vote up to ten candidates. Blyleven and Alomar were just ten ballots short during the last election.

Those that I would vote for are in bold.

Returning candidates:
Bert Blyleven, 14 (287 wins, 3,701 strikeouts)
Roberto Alomar, 2 (2724 hits, a career .300 average, 12x all star, 10 gold gloves)
Jack Morris, 12
Barry Larkin, 2 (3 gold gloves, 12x all star)
Lee Smith, 9 (478 saves)
Edgar Martinez, 2
Tim Raines, 4 (2605 hits, 808 stolen bases)
Mark McGwire, 5 (583 home runs)
Alan Trammell, 10
Fred McGriff, 2 (493 home runs)
Don Mattingly, 11
Dave Parker, 15
Dale Murphy, 13
Harold Baines, 5 (2866 hits)

First time candidates:
Wilson Alvarez
Carlos Baerga
Jeff Bagwell
Bret Boone
Kevin Brown
Cal Eldred
John Franco
Juan González
Marquis Grissom
Bobby Higginson
Charles Johnson
Al Leiter
Tino Martinez
Raúl Mondesí
José Offerman
John Olerud
Rafael Palmeiro
Paul Quantrill
Steve Reed
Kirk Rueter
Rey Sánchez
Benito Santiago
B. J. Surhoff
Ugueth Urbina
Ismael Valdez
Larry Walker (career .300 avg, 383 home runs, 7 gold gloves)
Dan Wilson

No comments: