Monday, January 08, 2007

Hall of Fame to announce voting results

For the third year in a row, will air the results live during the Hall of Fame Election Show at 1 PM eastern on Tuesday.
For the third year in a row, the announcement will happen right here during the Hall of Fame Election Show, beginning on Tuesday at 1 p.m. ET. At 2 p.m., Hall president Dale Petroskey will be in Manhattan at the studio to make the live announcement of the voting results by the Baseball Writers' Association of America.

The question last year was whether Petroskey would have any names to utter, and whether it would be the first voting shutout in 10 years. Then a massive audience of users watched him say:

"It gives me great pleasure to announce that the Baseball Writers' Association of America -- with the largest number of ballots ever cast -- have elected Bruce Sutter, the outstanding relief pitcher of the St. Louis Cardinals, Chicago Cubs and Atlanta Braves."

Now the question is whether it will be more than simply the seventh class featuring multiple first-ballot inductees. Tony Gwynn and Cal Ripken Jr., who played in a combined 31 All-Star Games, are widely considered first-ballot locks by the BBWAA constituency. Will four-time home run champ Mark McGwire get the required 75 percent of votes as well, or did voters choose to also ignore the past? Will a Jim Rice or Goose Gossage -- tantalizingly close in 2006 -- get over the hump this time?
Had I been a member of the BBWAA, I would have voted for Andre Dawson, Goose Gossage, Lee Smith, Don Mattingly, Jim Rice, Cal Ripken Jr., Tony Gwynn, and yes, even Mark McGwire.

No comments: